

Parliamentary Assembly Assemblée parlementaire

http://assembly.coe.int



Doc. 12518 3 February 2011

## The state of media freedom in Europe

Motion for a recommendation presented by Mr Mats Johansson and others

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only the members who have signed it

The Parliamentary Assembly is alarmed by the fact that media freedom is increasingly challenged in Europe through serious attacks against individual journalists and writers, restrictive legislation as well as difficult working conditions for journalists.

The Assembly deplores in particular the targeted action against the media in Belarus witnessed after the presidential election of 19 December 2010, the violent attacks against Oleg Kashin and Anatoly Adamchuk in Russia in November 2010, as well as the more than 50 journalists imprisoned in Turkey today.

Freedom of expression and information is a necessary condition for the functioning of democracy. Democracy and the rule of law are necessary conditions for membership of the Council of Europe. It is therefore a key challenge for the Council of Europe to ensure that media freedom is respected in all member states.

The Assembly calls on national parliaments to review threats to media freedom in their country and recommends that the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe assist member states in this respect.

Signed (see overleaf)

Doc. 12518

Signed <sup>1:</sup>

JOHANSSON Mats, Sweden, EPP/CD BRASSEUR Anne, Luxembourg, ALDE CEDERBRATT Mikael, Sweden, EPP/CD FLEGO Gvozden Srećko, Croatia, SOC GROSS Andreas, Switzerland, SOC GUTU Ana, Moldova, ALDE HOLOVATY Serhiy, Ukraine, ALDE HURSKAINEN Sinikka, Finland, SOC JENSEN Mogens, Denmark, SOC JOHN-CALAME Francine, Switzerland, SOC KONEČNÝ Albrecht, Austria, SOC KOVÁCS Elvira, Serbia, EPP/CD KOX Tiny, Netherlands, UEL MARLAND-MILITELLO Muriel, France, EPP/CD MARTY Dick, Switzerland, ALDE MIGNON Jean-Claude, France, EPP/CD MUÑOZ ALONSO Alejandro, Spain, EPP/CD STUMP Doris, Switzerland, SOC von SYDOW Björn, Sweden, SOC TOSHEV Latchezar, Bulgaria, EPP/CD WOHLWEND Renate, Liechtenstein, EPP/CD ZINGERIS Emanuelis, Lithuania, EPP/CD

EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party SOC: Socialist Group ALDE: Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe EDG: European Democratic Group UEL: Group of the Unified European Left NR: not registered in a group