STATUTORY INSTRUMENT

S.I. No. 363 of 2005

Immigration Act 2004 (Visas) Order 2005

Published by the Stationery Office, Dublin

TO BE PURCHASED DIRECT FROM THE GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALES OFFICE, SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2 OR BY MAIL ORDER FROM GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, 51 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2 (TEL: 01-6476834/35/36/37; FAX: 01-6476843)

or through any bookseller.

(PRN.A5/1133)

Price: €0.76

Immigration Act 2004 (Visas) Order 2005

I, Michael McDowell TD, Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 17 of the Immigration Act 2004, hereby order as follows:

- 1.— (1) This Order may be cited as the Immigration Act 2004 (Visas) Order 2005.
 - (2) This Order comes into operation on 1 August 2005.
- 2. In this Order—

"Convention travel document" means a travel document issued in accordance with Article 28 of the Geneva Convention (travel documents);

"the Geneva Convention" has the meaning assigned to it by the Refugee Act, 1996 (No. 17 of 1996)

"Irish visa" and "Irish transit visa" have the meanings assigned to them by the Immigration Act 2003 (No. 26 of 2003).

- **3.** (1) It is hereby declared that the following classes of non nationals are specified as classes the members of which are not required to be in possession of a valid Irish visa when landing in the State:
 - (a) nationals of a state specified in Schedule 1 to this Order

and

- (b) non-nationals who are the holders of a Convention travel document issued by Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden or Switzerland.
- (2) It is hereby declared that a national of a state specified in Schedule 2 to this Order is required to be in possession of a valid Irish transit visa when landing in the State.
- 4. The Immigration Act 2004 (Visas) Order 2004 (S.I. No. of 56 of 2004) is hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE 1

| Andorra | Guatemala | Panama |
|-------------------|------------------------|------------------------------------|
| Antigua & Barbuda | Guyana | Paraguay |
| Argentina | Honduras | Poland |
| Australia | Hong Kong (Special | Portugal |
| Australia | Administrative Region) | Tortugal |
| Austria | Hungary | Saint Kitts & Nevis |
| The Bahamas | Iceland | Saint Lucia |
| Barbados | Israel | Saint Lucia Saint Vincent & the |
| Baibados | 151401 | Grenadines |
| Dalaium | Italy | Samoa |
| Belgium Belize | Italy | Samoa San Marino |
| | Japan Kirihati | |
| Bolivia | Kiribati | Seychelles |
| Botswana | Latvia | Singapore |
| Brazil | Lesotho | Slovak Republic |
| Brunei | Liechtenstein | Slovenia |
| Canada | Lithuania | Solomon Islands |
| Chile | Luxembourg | South Africa |
| Costa Rica | Macau (Special | South Korea |
| Croatia | Administrative Region) | Spain |
| Cyprus | Malawi | Swaziland |
| Czech Republic | Malaysia | Sweden |
| Denmark | Maldives | Switzerland |
| Dominica | Malta | Tonga |
| El Salvador | Mauritius | Trinidad & Tobago |
| Estonia | Mexico | Tuvalu |
| Fiji | Monaco | United Kingdom & |
| 0 | | Colonies |
| Finland | Nauru | United States of America |
| France | Netherlands | Uruguay |
| Germany | New Zealand | Vanuatu |
| Greece | Nicaragua | Vatican City |
| Grenada | Norway | Venezuela |
| | -··-· | |

SCHEDULE 2

| Afghanistan | Iraq |
|----------------------------------|---------------------|
| Albania | Lebanon |
| Bulgaria | Moldova |
| Cuba | Nigeria |
| Democratic Republic of the Congo | Romania |
| Eritrea | Serbia & Montenegro |
| Ethiopia | Somalia |
| Ghana | Sri Lanka |
| Iran | Zimbabwe |

Given under my Official Seal,

this 11th day of July 2005.

L.S.

Michael McDowell TD, Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform.

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation)

This Order specifies the classes of non nationals who are required to be in possession of a valid Irish transit visa when landing in the State and the classes of non nationals exempt from Irish visa requirements.