## STATUTORY INSTRUMENT

## S.I. No. 657 of 2006

## Immigration Act 2004 (Visas) (No. 2) Order 2006

Published by the Stationery Office, Dublin

To be purchased directly from the Government Publications Sales Office, Sun Alliance House, Molesworth Street, Dublin 2,

or by mail order from

Government Publications, Postal Trade Section, 51 St Stephen's Green, Dublin 2 (Tel: 01 647 6834/35/36/37; Fax: 01 647 6843)

or through any bookseller.

Prn. A6/2188 Price: €0.76

# S.I. No. 657 of 2006 Immigration Act 2004 (Visas) (No. 2) Order 2006

I, Michael McDowell, Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 17 of the Immigration Act 2004 (No. 1 of 2004), hereby order as follows:

1. (1) This Order may be cited as the Immigration Act 2004 (Visas) (No. 2) Order 2006.

(2) This Order comes into operation on 1 January 2007.

2. In this Order -

"Convention travel document" means a travel document issued in accordance with Article 28 of the Geneva Convention;

"Geneva Convention" has the meaning assigned to it by the Refugee Act 1996 (No. 17 of 1996);

"permanent residence card" has the meaning assigned to it by the Regulations of 2006;

"residence card" has the meaning assigned to it by the Regulations of 2006;

"Regulations of 2006" means the European Communities (Free Movement of Persons) (No. 2) Regulations 2006 (S.I. No. 656 of 2006).

3. It is hereby declared that the following classes of non-nationals are specified as classes, the members of which are not required to be in possession of a valid Irish visa when landing in the State:

- (a) nationals of a state specified in Schedule 1;
- (b) non-nationals who are holders of -
  - (i) a valid Convention travel document issued by Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, or Switzerland and where the intended purpose of the travel to the State by the holder of such a travel document is solely for a visit of up to a maximum period of 3 months,
  - (ii) a valid permanent residence card issued under Regulation 16 of the Regulations of 2006, or
  - (iii) a valid residence card issued under Regulation 7 of the Regulations of 2006.

4. It is hereby declared that the classes of non-nationals specified in Schedule 2 are specified as classes, the members of which are required to be in possession of a valid Irish transit visa when arriving at a port in the State for purposes of passing through the port in order to travel to another state.

5. The Immigration Act 2004 (Visas) Order 2006 (S.I. No. 227 of 2006) is revoked.

### SCHEDULE 1

Classes of non-nationals not required to be in possession of a valid Irish visa when landing in the State

Andorra	Guatemala	Poland
Antigua & Barbuda	Guyana	Portugal
Argentina	Honduras	Romania
Australia	Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region)	Saint Kitts & Nevis
Austria	Hungary	Saint Lucia
The Bahamas	Iceland	Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
Barbados	Israel	Samoa
Belgium	Italy	San Marino
Belize	Japan	Seychelles
Bolivia	Kiribati	Singapore
Botswana	Latvia	Slovak Republic
Brazil	Lesotho	Slovenia
Brunei	Liechtenstein	Solomon Islands
Bulgaria	Lithuania	South Africa
Canada	Luxembourg	South Korea
Chile	Macau (Special Administrative Region)	Spain
Costa Rica	Malawi	Swaziland
Croatia	Malaysia	Sweden
Cyprus	Maldives	Switzerland
Czech Republic	Malta	Tonga
Denmark	Mauritius	Trinidad & Tobago
Dominica	Mexico	Tuvalu
El Salvador	Monaco	United Kingdom & Colonies
Estonia	Nauru	United States of America
Fiji	Netherlands	Uruguay
Finland	New Zealand	Vanuatu
France	Nicaragua	Vatican City
Germany	Norway	Venezuela
Greece	Panama	
Grenada	Paraguay	

Article 4.

#### SCHEDULE 2

Classes of non-nationals required to be in possession of a valid Irish transit visa when arriving at a port in the State for purposes of passing through the port in order to travel to another state

Afghanistan	Lebanon
Albania	Moldova
Cuba	Montenegro
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Nigeria
Eritrea	Serbia
Ethiopia	Somalia
Ghana	Sri Lanka
Iran	Zimbabwe
Iraq	

GIVEN under my Official Seal, 18 December 2006



Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform.

## **Explanatory Note**

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

This Order specifies the classes of non-nationals who are exempt from Irish visa requirements and those who are required to be in possession of a valid Irish transit visa when transiting within a port within the State. The principal change effected by the Order is that nationals of Bulgaria and Romania are, from the date of accession of those countries to the EU, no longer subject to an Irish visa requirement. The Order also specifies that holders of travel documents under the 1951 Geneva Convention relating to the Status of Refugees issued by certain states are not required to hold an Irish visa when visiting the State for periods of 3 months or less.