Geneva, December 1st, 1933.

LEAGUE OF NATIONS

INTER=GOVERNMENTAL CONFERENCE FOR REFUGEES

(Geneva, October 1933)

FINAL ACT

[Translation.]

FINAL ACT.

The Governments of Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Latvia, Poland, Roumania, Switzerland, Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia,

Having accepted the invitation to take part in an Inter-governmental Conference for Refugees, extended to them by decision of the Council of the League of Nations of May 22nd, 1933,

Have in consequence appointed as their delegates and technical advisers:

AUSTRIA.

Delegate:

His Excellency M. Emerich Pflugl, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative accredited to the League of Nations.

Substitute Delegate:

Dr. F. Matsch, Secretary of Legation.

BELGIUM.

Delegates:

M. MEYERS, Honorary Director-General of the Ministry of Justice. M. Deltenre, Deputy Director at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

BULGARIA.

Delegate:

M. D. Mikoff, Chargé d'Affaires in Switzerland, Permanent Representative accredited to the League of Nations.

CHINA.

Delegate:

His Excellency Dr. V. Hoo Chi-tsai, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary accredited to the Swiss Federal Council, Director of the Permanent Bureau of the Chinese Delegation accredited to the League of Nations.

Substitute Delegate:

M. Chen Ting, Secretary of the Permanent Bureau of the Chinese Delegation accredited to the League of Nations.

S.d N 1.325+80 (F.) 555 (A.) 12/33. Imp. Kundig.

EGYPT.

Delegate:

Assal Bey, Consul at Geneva.

ESTONIA.

Delegate:

His Excellency M. A. Schmidt, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary accredited to His Majesty the King of Italy and to the Swiss Federal Council, Permanent Delegate accredited to the League of Nations.

FINLAND.

Delegate:

His Excellency Dr. Rudolf Holsti, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary accredited to the Swiss Federal Council, Permanent Delegate accredited to the League of Nations, former Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Substitute Delegate:

M. P. K. TARJANNE, First Secretary of Legation at the Permanent Delegation accredited to the League of Nations and at the Legation of the Republic of Finland accredited to the Swiss Federal Council.

FRANCE.

Delegates:

M. DE NAVAILLES, Deputy Director of Chancelleries and of the Litigation Department at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

M. M. PAON, Head of the Agricultural Labour and Immigration Department.

GREECE.

Delegate:

His Excellency M. R. RAPHAËL, Minister Plenipotentiary, Permanent Delegate accredited to the League of Nations.

LATVIA.

Delegate:

His Excellency M. Jules Feldmans, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary accredited to the Swiss Federal Council, Permanent Delegate accredited to the League of Nations.

Substitute Delegate:

M. Karlis Kalnins, Secretary of the Permanent Delegation accredited to the League of Nations.

POLAND.

Delegates:

Dr. Władisław Kulski, Secretary of Legation at the Permanent Delegation accredited to the League of Nations.

Dr. J. ZYMIRSKI, Head of Section at the Ministry of the Interior.

ROUMANIA.

Delegate:

His Excellency M. Constantin Antoniade, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary accredited to the League of Nations.

Substitute Delegate:

M. Edmond Ciuntu, Counsellor of Legation.

SWITZERLAND.

Delegate:

M. Camille Gorgé, Head of Section (First Class) in the Federal Political Department.

xpert:

M. F. KAPPELER, Jurist in the Federal Political Department.

CZECHOSLOVAKIA.

Delegate :

His Excellency M. Rudolf Kunzl-Jizersky, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary accredited to the Swiss Federal Council, Permanent Delegate accredited to the League of Nations.

Substitute Delegate:

M. R. KEPL, Director of the Czechoslovak Press Bureau at Geneva.

YUGOSLAVIA.

Delegate :

His Excellency M. Constantin Fotitch, Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary, Permanent Delegate accredited to the League of Nations.

Substitute Delegate:

M. M. Stevanovitch, First Secretary of the Permanent Delegation accredited to the League of Nations.

The following technical advisers of the Inter-governmental Commission took part in the Conference as Experts:

Baron B. Nolde, of the Council of former Russian Ambassadors.

Mr. W. A. MACKENZIE, of the "Save the Children" International Union.

Mr. L. B. GOLDEN, United British Committee.

M. L. PACHALIAN, of the Central Committee of Armenian Refugees.

M. J. Rubinstein, of the Central Commission of Enquiry into the Situation of Russian Refugees.

M. A. François, Senator, took part in the Conference as a member of the Committee of Experts responsible for the preparation of the draft Convention.

The Conference met at Geneva from October 26th to 28th, 1933.

It elected M. DE NAVAILLES as President.

Professor Georges Werner took part in the Conference as President of the Governing Body of the Nansen International Office for Refugees.

The Secretarial work was entrusted to:

Mr. T. F. Johnson, Secretary-General of the Nansen International Office for Refugees, who acted as Secretary-General of the Conference.

M. E. GIRAUD and M. B. GENTILE, Members of the Legal Section of the Secretariat, who

acted as legal advisers.

M. GALLOIS, Member of the Official Relations Section of the International Labour Office, who acted as technical adviser.

As a result of the discussions reported in the minutes of the meetings, the Conference drew up a Convention.

In faith whereof the above-mentioned delegates have signed the present Final Act.

Done at Geneva, the twenty-eighth day of October, one thousand nine hundred and thirty-three in a single copy, which shall be deposited in the archives of the League of Nations.

A certified true copy shall be forwarded by the Secretary-General of the League of Nations to the Members of the League and to the non-member States referred to in Article 17 of the Convention. The President: NAVAILLES.

Austria									E. Pflügl
Belgium	•				•	•	•		E. Meyers M. Deltenre
Bulgaria									D. Mikoff
China .		. •							Hoo Chi-Tsai
Estonia									A. Schmidt.
Finland				•	•	•			Rudolf Holsti. P. K. Tarjanne.
France.									NAVAILLES.
Greece .									R. Raphaël
Latvia .									J. Feldmans.
Poland									L. Kulski.
Roumani	a								ANTONIADE
Switzerla	nd								C. Gorgé
Czechoslo	va	kia	ŀ.						Rodolphe Kepl
Yugosla	via								M. Stevanovitch