Executive Committee's membership by year of admission of members

UNHCR Advisory Committee established in 1951

The following fifteen members

Australia France Switzerland Austria Germany Turkey Holy See United Kingdom Belgium United States Brazil Israel

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of* Denmark Italy

The UNREF Executive Committee established in 1955

The same fifteen members as the Advisory Committee, plus:

as of 1957 Colombia the Netherlands Greece Norway Canada

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Executive Committee of the High Commissioner's Programme, 1958

The same twenty-one members as the UNREF Executive Committee, plus:

as of 2008 China as of 1996 Sweden Ireland Benin Tunisia Luxembourg Montenegro Yugoslavia, Socialist Federal Republic of** as of 1997

Poland the Republic of North Macedonia**** as of 1963 South Africa Algeria as of 2009 Lebanon as of 1999 Djibouti Madagascar Mozambique Republic of Moldova

Nigeria

as of 2000 Tanzania, United Republic of as of 2010 Slovenia Chile Côte d'Ivoire as of 1967 as of 2011 Uganda Republic of Korea

Bulgaria as of 2001 as of 1979 Cameroon Argentina Mexico Congo Finland Croatia

as of 2002 Japan Togo Lesotho Ecuador Turkmenistan Morocco Guinea Nicaragua New Zealand as of 2012

Serbia** Azerbaijan Sudan Rwanda Thailand

Democratic Republic of the Congo*** as of 2003 as of 2014 Cyprus as of 1982 Afghanistan Kenya Namibia Yemen Belarus

Czech Republic as of 1988 as of 2004 Latvia Pakistan Egypt Peru Somalia Zambia Senegal Slovakia

as of 1991 as of 2005 **Philippines** Ghana as of 2015 Romania Armenia as of 1993 Chad

Ethiopia as of 2006 Georgia Hungary Jordan Uruguay Portugal

As of 2017 as of 1994 as of 2007 Spain Fiji Estonia Lithuania as of 1995 Costa Rica Paraguay

Bangladesh As of 2018 Russian Federation Zimbabwe

As of 2019 Burkina Faso Iceland Mali Malta

On 17 November 2004, the United Nations was informed that the short name of Venezuela had been changed to Venezuela (Bolivaria Republic of).

Total = 106

On 20 May 1997, the Republic of Zaïre was renamed the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

In 2002 following the dissolution of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (after the secession of Croatia, Slovenia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Bosnia and Herzegovina), the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Montenegro and Serbia) was admitted as a new member. On 4 February 2003, the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia informed the United Nations that it had changed its name to Serbia and Montenegro. On 3 June 2006, following the Declaration of Independence adopted by the Republic of Montenegro, the Republic of Serbia (Serbia) informed the United Nations that it would continue the United Nations membership previously held by Serbia and Montenegro.

On 12 February 2019, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia was renamed the Republic of North Macedonia.