DECISION

No. 159, dated 2.3.2016

ON THE APPROVAL OF THE LIST OF SAFE THIRD COUNTRIES

Based on article 100 of the Constitution and point 2, article 10, of the law no. 121/2014, "On Asylum in the Republic of Albania", upon proposal of the Minister of Internal Affairs, the Council of the Ministers

Decided:

- 1. To endorse the list of safe third countries as per the annex attached to this decision.
- 2. When developments in one or more countries may cause changes of the conditions in those countries, the Minister of Internal Affairs, in accordance with the previsions of article 10, of Law no. 121/2014, "On Asylum in the Republic of Albania", after receiving the official opinion of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, presents proposals for the modification of this list.
- 3. In preparing the changes to the list of safe third countries, the data taken from specialized institutions of the Republic of Albania for the provision of information from countries of origin, the lists prepared on such purpose by various countries or international organizations, as well as the relevant opinion of UNHCR or of international human rights organizations shall be taken into account.
- 4. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs, based on the data it possesses and on the evaluations it carries out may at any time recommend to the Minister of Internal Affairs changes in the list attached to this decision.
- 5. The Decision of the Council of the Ministers no. 1260, dated 23.12.2009, "On the Approval of the List of Safe Third Countries", is abrogated.
 - 6. The Ministry of Internal Affairs is tasked with the execution of such decision.

This decision shall enter into force upon publication in the Official Gazette.

Prime Minister

Edi Rama

Annex No. 1 List of safe third countries

Countries included in the list of safe third countries are as follows:

1. Andorra 23. Latvia

2. Australia 24. Lithuania

3. Austria 25. Luxemburg

4. Belgium 26. Montenegro

5. Bosnia and Hercegovina 27. Malta

6. Bulgaria 28. United Kingdom

7. Denmark 29. Norway

8. Estonia 30. Poland

9. Finland 31. Portugal

10. France 32. Cyprus

11. Greece 33. Czech Republic

12. Germany 34. Macedonia

13. Holland 35. Romania

14. Hungary 36. Serbia

15. Ireland 37. Slovakia

16. Iceland 38. Slovenia

17. Italy 39. Spain

18. Japan 40. Sweden

19. Canada 41. United States of America

20. South Korea 42. Turkey

21. Kosova 43. New Zealand

22. Croatia 44. Switzerland