Mount Lebanon (Beirut)

The Governorates of Beirut and Mount Lebanon are considered the heart of Lebanon’s social, economic, political and cultural activities. Beirut is predominantly urban, while Mount Lebanon has urban and rural areas.  Administratively, Mount Lebanon is divided into six districts, namely Jbeil, Keserwan, Metn, Aley, Baabda and Chouf.

The local population in Beirut and Mount Lebanon is estimated to be around two million persons. As of 30 June 2018, Beirut and Mount Lebanon Governorates host 251,149 registered Syrian refugees. Additionally, there are over 17,486 refugees and asylum-seekers from other countries such as Iraq and Sudan.

UNHCR’s office in Mount Lebanon has agreements with nine partners that implement projects, and a network of 138 refugee volunteers to assist refugee families living throughout the area that spans 478 towns and villages.

In addition, UNHCR’s Representation in Lebanon is based in Jnah, Beirut, and coordinates all refugee-related activities nation-wide.