South (Tyre)

Administratively, the South of Lebanon is divided into two governorates: the Governorate of South Lebanon consisting of the districts of Saida, Jezzine, and Tyre, and the Governorate of Nabatiyeh, consisting of the districts Nabatiyeh, Hasbaya, Maryehoun, and Bint Jbeil. Its area spans over 3,000 square km – nearly 30 per cent of the total size of Lebanon, 264 municipalities – almost 25 per cent of the total number of municipalities in Lebanon – and 12 unions of municipalities.

The Lebanese population in the South is estimated at 750,000 residents. As of 30 June 2017, the total number of registered Syrian refugees in the South stands at 119,808 individuals. Additionally, there are over 1,200 refugees and asylum-seekers from Sudan, Iraq, Ethiopia and other countries.

UNHCR’s office in Tyre works with 48 operational partners, has agreements with eight partners that implement projects, and a network of 79 refugee volunteers to assist some 26,000 refugee families in the area.