Executive Committee's membership by year of admission

UNHCR Advisory Committee established in 1951

The following fifteen members

Switzerland Australia France Austria Germany Turkey Belgium Holy See United Kingdom United States Brazil Israel

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of* Denmark Italy

The UNREF Executive Committee established in 1955

The same fifteen members as the Advisory Committee, plus:

Colombia the Netherlands as of 1957 Greece Norway Canada

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Russian Federation

Executive Committee of the High Commissioner's Programme, 1958

The same twenty-one members as the UNREF Executive Committee, plus:

as of 1996 as of 2008 Sweden Ireland **Benin** Tunisia Luxembourg Yugoslavia, Socialist Federal Republic of** as of 1997 Montenegro

the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Poland

as of 2009

as of 1963 South Africa Algeria

Lebanon as of 1999 Djibouti Republic of Moldova Mozambique Madagascar

Nigeria United Republic of Tanzania as of 2000 as of 2010 Slovenia Chile

as of 1967 Côte d'Ivoire Uganda Republic of Korea as of 2011 Bulgaria

as of 1979 as of 2001 Cameroon Argentina Mexico Congo Finland Croatia as of 2002 Japan Togo Lesotho Turkmenistan Ecuador Morocco Guinea

as of 2012 Nicaragua New Zealand Serbia** Azerbaijan Sudan Thailand Rwanda

Democratic Republic of the Congo*** as of 2003 as of 2014 Cyprus

as of 1982 Afghanistan Kenya Namibia Yemen **Belarus** Czech Republic

as of 1988 as of 2004 Latvia Pakistan Egypt Peru Somalia Zambia Senegal

as of 1991 as of 2005 as of 2015 **Philippines** Ghana Armenia

Romania Chad as of 1993 Georgia Ethiopia as of 2006 Uruguay Hungary Jordan

As of 2017 Portugal as of 1994 Fiii as of 2007 Lithuania Spain

Estonia Paraguay as of 1995 Costa Rica

Total = 101 Bangladesh India

On 17 November 2004, the United Nations was informed that the short name of Venezuela had been changed to Venezuela (Bolivaria Republic of)

In 2002, following the dissolution of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (after the secession of Croatia, Slovenia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Bosnia and Herzegovina), the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Montenegro and Serbia) was admitted as a new member. On 4 February 2003, the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia informed the United Nations that it had changed its name to Serbia and Montenegro. On 3 June 2006, following the Declaration of Independence adopted by the Republic of Montenegro, the Republic of Serbia (Serbia) informed the United Nations that it would continue the United Nations membership previously held by Serbia and Montenegro. On 20 May 1997, the Republic of Zaïre was renamed the Democratic Republic of the Congo.