STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2009 No. 1032

IMMIGRATION

The Immigration (Passenger Transit Visa) (Amendment) (No. 2) Order 2009

Made	21st April 2009
Laid before Parliament	24th April 2009
Coming into force in accordance with article 2	

The Secretary of State makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by sections

Citation and Commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Immigration (Passenger Transit Visa) (Amendment) (No. 2) Order 2009.

2.—(1) Subject to paragraph (2) this Order comes into force on 18th May 2009.

(2) Article 3(3)(b) to (d) comes into force on 1st July 2009.

41 and 166(3) of the Immigration and Asylum Act 1999(a).

Amendments to the Immigration (Passenger Transit Visa) Order 2003

3.—(1) The Immigration (Passenger Transit Visa) Order 2003(b) shall be amended as follows.

(2) In article 2, for paragraph (3A) substitute—

"(3A) This paragraph applies to a person who holds a passport issued by the Republic of Venezuela that does not contain biometric information held in an electronic chip.".

- (3) In Schedule 1-
 - (a) after "Belarus" insert "Bolivia";
 - (b) after "Lebanon" insert "Lesotho";
 - (c) after "Somalia" insert "South Africa"; and
 - (d) after "Sudan" insert "Swaziland".

Home Office 21st April 2009 Phil Woolas Minister of State

⁽a) 1999 c. 33.

⁽b) S.I. 2003/1185 as amended by S.I. 2003/2628, S.I. 2004/1304, S.I. 2005/492, S.I. 2006/493 and S.I. 2009/198.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order is made under sections 41 and 166(3) of the Immigration and Asylum Act 1999 and amends the Immigration (Passenger Transit Visa) Order 2003 (the "2003 Order"). The 2003 Order requires certain passengers to hold a transit visa to pass through the United Kingdom without entering whilst transiting to another country or territory.

This Order provides that a person who holds a passport issued by the Republic of Venezuela that does not contain biometric information held in an electronic chip requires a transit visa.

It also has the effect that nationals and citizens of Bolivia, Lesotho, South Africa and Swaziland will require a transit visa. It removes the temporary exemption from the transit regime available to certain South Africans with a previous travel history to the United Kingdom.

[©] Crown copyright 2009

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.