COUNCIL OF EUROPE COMMITTEE OF MINISTERS

DECLARATION ON TERRITORIAL ASYLUM

(Adopted by the Committee of Ministers on 18 November 1977, at the 278th meeting of the Ministers' Deputies)

The Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe,

Having examined the present situation in the field of territorial asylum;

Taking into account the principles contained in particular in the United Nations Charter, in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and in the United Nations Declaration on Territorial Asylum of 1967;

Acting in pursuance of the objectives contained in the Statute of the Council of Europe;

Bearing in mind the European Convention on Human Rights,

Having regard to Resolution (67) 14 of 29 June 1967;

Wishing to underline the practice which is common to the member states of the Council of Europe in the field of territorial asylum,

Declares:

- 1. In fulfilling their humanitarian duties, the member states of the Council of Europe reaffirm their intention to maintain, in particular on the basis of the principles set out in Resolution (67) 14, their liberal attitude with regard to persons seeking asylum on their territory;
- 2. The member states of the Council of Europe, parties to the 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees, reaffirm their right to grant asylum to any person who, having a well-founded fear of being persecuted for reasons of race, religion, nationality, membership of a particular social group or political opinion, also fulfils the other conditions of eligibility for the benefits of that convention, as well as to any other person they consider worthy of receiving asylum for humanitarian reasons;
- 3. The member states of the Council of Europe reaffirm that the grant of territorial asylum is a peaceful and humanitarian act and shall not be regarded as an act unfriendly to any other state and shall be respected by all states.